Phx Friends of UA SIRLS

News and info about librarianship, UA SIRLS, and libraries…

Keeping Our Eyes on the Prize (From Roy Tenant’s blog in LJ)

Posted by Editor on July 22, 2008

Downloaded 7/22/08 – something for us all to think about!

As I often do, I’m working on a presentation I must give tomorrow morning. Actually, I’m a bit ahead of myself. I mean, I like have hours left. But anyway, that isn’t my point. My point is taken straight from my presentation:

Why do we try to differentiate on stuff that doesn’t matterin ways users find annoying?

Let me explain. No one in their right mind wants to use a library catalog. Yes, you read that right. No one wants to use a library catalog. They want to find a book. Or an article or whatever. They only use a library catalog because they have to. And actually, they often just use it to find out a) if you have a particular book they’ve already discovered elsewhere, and b) whether it’s on the shelf.

From a library user’s perspective, then, library catalogs don’t matter — they would prefer to have other ways of doing what they need to do if we could possibly understand their pain enough to alleviate it. Frankly, a great deal of library user pain could be avoided simply by decent signage. It works fairly well in a bookstore, why not a small library? That would take care of the “I want books on this subject” and “I want a good mystery” purposes for most users…

MORE

Leave a Reply

 
